Author Interview: Sexual Ambrosia

3d-cover-stack-whiteAuthor Interview

1. What do you feel will most likely capture your reader’s attention regarding your book?

The first thing I think readers will notice about this story happens to be the strong biblical themes. At first glance, the book might seem irreverent, but I didn’t want this to be the case. With a little perverse perspective, I think the new perspectives on old stories will be a delight for many readers. Sexual Ambrosia mixes old and new; daring to touch on perhaps the most common incest couples known to date.

2. What other books would you compare to your own story?

There aren’t many books I would compare this story to. I once read an amazing book called Out of the Garden: Women Writers on the Bible. The book shares various perspectives by women on common biblical tales. In a way, I could see comparing Sexual Ambrosia to that book. Though, my perspective involves a very explicit retelling or perspective on these stories. Other than that, there isn’t a book I would really compare this one to.

3. What inspired the title of your latest book?

Sexual Ambrosia is a little play on words. Ambrosia is often called the food of the gods. People once believed if you ate of the food of the gods you could attain immorality. Sexual Ambrosia then refers to a very different, erotic, version of this same food of the gods. This is mainly revealed in the beginning of the book, but I wonder how many will follow the same train of thought. It’s a very subtle meaning, but I’m sure a few people will see the humor in the title.

4. Taken as a whole, what moral, social, or political questions does your story discuss?

Every biblical story is filled with moral and social issues. To narrow my book down to one issue would be a great disservice to the story. Besides questioning the stories themselves though, I think I paid careful attention to various incestuous situations. Each pairing in Sexual Ambrosia differs largely from what many Christians know. It’s purely speculative, but I tried adding my own spin and reasoning to the morality of incest and politics of religious belief.

5. Artistically or literarily, were there any challenges creating your story’s dynamics?

The one struggle I had more than any other was connecting each story to the next. This was my first novel, and that of course presented challenges on its own. But, trying to pick and choose what stories to include, which to dismiss, and then how to make a consistent flow through the whole books was extremely challenging. In the end, I think I found a creative solution that makes sense within the context of the story itself. Hopefully, readers won’t even notice!

6. How do you feel the cover highlights your story?

I thought the cover model on this book was quite gorgeous. She’s the perfect Eve, but sensual enough to play on the concept of Evette. I’m sure some readers will wonder which character is indeed on the cover, and I’m not about to tell either way. There’s always been something alluring about Eve in the Garden of Eden, and I think the modern twist on this cover was quite nice. Personally, I love the added detail of the snake skin bracelet as well.

7. Share with us an interesting fact or moment in your book.

There’s a dynamic I rather liked writing between Lot and his daughters. The story is a classic for anyone who loves biblical incest stories. I couldn’t possibly write this story without including a mention of it myself. What makes that moment so particularly interesting is the added curiosity of Lot’s daughters with each other. Everyone has always accepted the fact these two women slept with their father, but wouldn’t they have at least been curious? I thought the question too irresistible not to answer.

8. What is your favorite part or scene in your book?

My favorite scene in this whole book happens to be between a dynamic between Adam, Eve, and their two sons, Cain and Abel. The story of Cain and Abel is certainly one of jealousy, but I added a perverse dynamic to the overall story. Incest must have been common, and I enjoy writing a bit of mother son sex into the overall book. What happens between Eve and Cain impacts everyone, but not before some steamy moments too satisfying to undo occur.

9. What appeals to you most about writing for this genre?

Incest is a genre I’ve always enjoyed writing. The biblical themes are a particular favorite of mine, because they’re such a taboo subject for many people. It’s not just incest, but incest combined with religious ideas. In some ways, I enjoy pushing the boundaries of morality. There are certainly questions everyone no doubt has, and answering them in such a way is definitely appealing.

Image - 1 Zipper (Horizontal)

About Lily Weidner

An author with an interest in all things taboo, Lily Weidner combines both personal experience and unique interests to write her erotic stories. Captivated by her work, she enjoys writing stories that explore and challenge the depths of human nature.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview: Sexual Ambrosia

  1. Pingback: Behind The Scenes: Sneak Peek | Lily Weidner

Leave a Reply

