Author Interview: Daddy’s Captive

3d-cover-stack-whiteAuthor Interview

1. What do you feel will most likely capture your reader’s attention regarding your book?

Regarding my book, I think the most captivating part more than likely will end up being my female character, Kassandra. Unlike my other characters Kassandra is free spirited, and tries to capture what it’s like being a young woman. I’d like to think I did a good job capturing the unique perspective of what it’s like to love again in a carefree way.

2. What other books would you compare to your own story?

It’s difficult to think of another story to compare my own too. There are always scenes that get stuck in my mind, and they’re usually inspiring in some way. Thinking about it though, I really was inspired to remember what it was like being carefree again. Any book that tries to capture that atmosphere could be an inspiration.

3. What inspired the title of your latest book?

There are a couple things that inspired this book’s title. I like the way Daddy’s Captive sounded, and I actually had the title picked out before the book got started. In a way, I liked the title for conveying a reluctance or apprehension to the relationship. Ideally, I wanted readers to know this wasn’t a typical fall in love from the start book. Nope, in mine the characters generally have to overcome some issue in order to start their relationship.

4. Taken as a whole, what moral, social, or political questions does your story discuss?

As a book that focuses on incest, the story discusses father/daughter relationships. On top of that though, there’s also the social question of what a “slut” is. This isn’t meant to be demeaning in any way towards women, quite the contrary. My character grows to better understand her sexual freedom, and what she wants for herself. That alone is a controversial topic in society right now.

5. Artistically or literarily, were there any challenges creating your story’s dynamics?

Yes, I had a hard time voicing my character’s approach to BDSM. Much of what my character feels towards BDSM were personal thoughts or moment taken with some artistic liberties. Having liked BDSM all my life however, I sometimes struggle to convey the apprehension. It’s tough to convey a personal experience, even covered up in a fictional character.

6. How do you feel the cover highlights your story?

The cover image for this story is beautiful. What I really liked from first glance happened to be the beautiful way the picture conveys being captured. The girl looks so approachable, and doesn’t seem to mind being handcuffed to a post. There’s also a sexiness to her character that seems almost accidental. I thought that happened to capture the feel of my main character so perfectly, and I really love this cover.

7. Share with us an interesting fact or moment in your book.

Early on in the book, Kassandra is in love with someone who has PTSD. The way she struggles to cope with her experience is quite interesting. It was quite a painful scene to write, but I feel people can really relate to it. There’s so much more to this book than I ever imagined. That scene though really opens the door for communication later on. Altogether, it works quite well in a subtle way.

8. What is your favorite part or scene in your book?

My favorite part of the book is when Kassandra starts jumping on the living room furniture. She’s completely unaware of her father watching her, but wouldn’t care anyway. The scene is just filled with a fun approach to sex and sexual desire. Writing that scene was fun, and I realized I had stumbled into my favorite part of the book.

9. What appeals to you most about writing for this genre?

Writing incest will always be an appealing genre. One of the many appeals however, are the immeasurable ways this genre continues to intersect other genres. I’ve never known a genre to be so versatile. As a writer I can cover just about any subject I wish to write about, all while staying within the confines of my particular genre.

image-1-zipper-horizontal

About Lily Weidner

An author with an interest in all things taboo, Lily Weidner combines both personal experience and unique interests to write her erotic stories. Captivated by her work, she enjoys writing stories that explore and challenge the depths of human nature.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview: Daddy’s Captive

  1. Pingback: Behind The Scenes: Sneak Peek | Lily Weidner

Leave a Reply

